Center Metropolitan Cities

Imagemotiv-CMC©Center-Metropolitan-Cities_Web-e1579017800255 Center Metropolitan Cities

CMC

rwth_center_Metropolitan-Cities_RGB-600x243 Center Metropolitan Cities

Designing Ecosystems for Innovation

The activities of the Center Metropolitan Cities focus on the sustainability goals of the United Nations, the federal government and the government of North Rhine-Westphalia: The center works toward assisting the metropolitan region Rhine-Ruhr in taking significant steps towards CO² neutrality and resource saving.
Zitat_Schuh_EN Center Metropolitan Cities

Vision

The vision of the Center Metropolitan Cities is the development and implementation of an economically and ecologically meaningful concept to create networked metropolitan areas of tomorrow via digitalization and new methods of mobility. The concept is advanced via innovations in the areas of mobility, buildings, logistics, digital infrastructures and energy on societal, as well as technological level. The goal is the creation of a European model metropolitan area with an entirely unique character. These are the principles the Center Metropolitan Cities stands for.

Zitat_Gudergan_EN Center Metropolitan Cities
Zitat_Krechting_EN Center Metropolitan Cities

Mission

The Center Metropolitan Cities bundles the required competences on RWTH Aachen Campus and beyond. Taking into consideration the concerns of the cities and communities, the state sector, politics, industry and academia is equally important in the work the center does. In terms of content, the Center Metropolitan Cities focuses on the development of methods and processes for the development of highly independent, complex systems, the development of scenarios and the design and testing of new implementation concepts.

Strategy

The objectives as our common task

The goals of the Center Metropolitan Cities, derived from the vision, centers around the development and implementation of an economically and ecologically meaningful future concept to create networked metropolitan areas via digitization and new methods of mobility. This task must be understood as a joint venture project of a wide variety of stakeholder groups and other involved parties. The center offers software and logistics industries, automotive manufacturers, manufacturing companies, urban planners and administrators, utility companies, telecommunication providers and network operators, commercial companies and citizens a platform, where initial prototypes, market-ready offerings and even new company creations can be achieved agilely and a part of joint ventures.

The Center Metropolitan Cities provides an open platform for cooperation on RWTH Aachen Campus. Already now, the challenges of metropolitan regions are explored in the Center Metropolitan Cities in close cooperation with other centers on RWTH Aachen Campus. These include the Center Smart Commercial Building, the centers in the Smart Logistics Cluster and the Center Multimodal Mobility, which is currently in development. The Center Metropolitan Cities actively supports the creation of additional centers focusing on the topics of Charging Infrastructures and Urban Logistics.

Eight areas of activity to achieve common objectives

The Center Metropolitan Cities addresses a total of eight interrelated areas of activity, which all speak to the relevant claims of the vision of the Center and form the regulatory framework. The center sees itself as a think tank and implementation engine for pioneers and actors, who wish to work together on the design and implementation of the roadmaps of each of the various areas of activity.

Schwerpunkte-1024x598 Center Metropolitan Cities

People & Mobility

Never-ending traffic jams significantly hinder mobility in the Rhine-Ruhr metropolitan area. Individual stakeholder groups can already now contribute to an effective solution with concrete actions. Employers can support their personnel in their change-over to emission-free vehicles and offer free charging stations. The regular public transport schedule can be supplemented with electric minibuses to bundle more of the single person traffic and to bolster the public transport offering. Established companies, startups and the public sector will have opportunities to reposition themselves.

Logistics & Work

The increasing need for on-demand solutions forces the metropolitan Rhine-Ruhr region to re-think logistics concepts. Work processes and formats are undergoing significant change. New solutions must be developed for the so-called last mile. In terms of technology, delivery vehicles are available today, which could relieve delivery issues by driving on to the next house autonomously, while the delivery is carried to the doorstep. The Center Metropolitan Cities therefore focuses on the further development of emission-free transport vehicles, as well as intelligent, autonomous systems that will deliver a whole new level of productivity.

Smart Spaces &  Buildings

The Center Metropolitan Cities aims to redefine the role of buildings and living spaces in mobility and logistics concepts for the future by implementing digital networking with additional systems in existing and new buildings. Existing Park & Ride facilities or multi-story parking garages could, for example, be expanded and connected with an on-demand offering of electric minibuses for commuters and visitors. The parking of personal vehicles and a changeover to minibuses will therefore be much more convenient than driving into the inner city in one’s own vehicle.

Cities & Regions

The cities, municipalities and their superordinate networks contribute with their actions and guidelines to successful economic development in accordance with market and competition principles. Cities and communities are already today offering space for infrastructure and supply, e.g. for expanding the network of charging stations. They create the framework for future traffic and mobility solutions, while relevant, pragmatic decisions ensure that test tracks and corridors for autonomous transport and mobility solutions are already in development today.

Use Case: The region of the future: Digitally networked and sustainable

The vision outlined above is shared by many companies, research institutes and the public sector in their efforts to develop Europe’s fifth-largest metropolitan region: Rhine-Ruhr. The Metropolitan Cities Initiative initiated by the center and the congress of the same name in support of these efforts were founded in 2018. Based on the potential of over 12 million inhabitants, around 400,000 university students, the largest number of startups in Germany, well-established enterprises and high-tech startups in the region, a unique objective was formulated for the Metropolitan Cities Initiative: removing all barriers for innovation and mobility. In other words: the region behaves and develops “as one”. Ecosystems for urban innovation are driven forward and innovations are tested and implemented directly in the region. The application of the Rhine-Ruhr metropolitan region to host the 2032 Olympics is set to be proof of the success of these measures. Should the bid be accepted, the Olympics 2032 could become the most sustainable Games in modern history and an important milestone for the development of the region.

The activities of the Center Metropolitan Cities begin, where the need for innovation can be felt locally in everyday situations. The Rhine-Ruhr metropolitan region is extremely densely populated. Traffic congestion statistics firmly place the region among the top contenders and there is no need to look at the threshold values of CO2, NOX or SOX emissions to see that something needs to be done. Many topics can be tackled directly, which is why Metropolitan Cities focuses specifically on these topics to derive actionable areas. Most importantly, a large part of trips into the cities should be emission-free as soon as possible to prevent driving bans. It should become possible to move more people in less vehicles in areas close to the cities to reduce congestion and searches for parking spaces.

However, some hurdles on the road to a sustainably networked metropolitan region are to be expected. Our current mobility offerings, roads and routes are overloaded and will only be able to handle the growing flow of people and goods to some extent. Requirements for clean cities demand clean propulsion concepts based on e.g. hydrogen or electricity, the success of which, however, depends on the expansion of relevant infrastructures. The availability of faster, seamless connectivity is not a matter of course as yet and holds back quick development in the Rhine-Ruhr metropolitan region as well. Cities and communities have grown over centuries. Districts and buildings that are fully networked via new forms of mobility and offer flexible spaces for living and working are as yet in the concept phase. The activities of cities and communities are already aimed at key focal issues, but more coordination would make these activities a lot more effective. It is therefore essential to integrate the many options available into a single convergent development strategy.

Metropolitan Cities Congress as a crystallization point for activities

An annual congress shares the name of the Center Metropolitan Cities. The congress is organized in collaboration with the partner Rhein Ruhr City GmbH. The first congress was held in July of 2018 with 450 participants under the patronage of the Minister President of North-Rhine Westphalia, Armin Laschet. Future trends were discussed and concrete solution approaches were developed in a total of more than 45 high-caliber presentations in the areas of politics, industry and academia, as well as in nine workshops. The many attending CEOs of DAX enterprises and the Federal Minister of Economics and Technology, Peter Altmaier, contributed equally to the support of the initiative. Startups were given the opportunity to introduce themselves and find investors. In July 2019, the number of attendees in Aachen had increased to over 550. 2020 will see the next edition of this event series taking place on June 2 and 3 in Aachen again. For latest information about the congress please visit http://www.metropolitan-cities.de.

Metropolitan Cities Events

The Metropolitan Cities Congress is the annual networking event of the Center Metropolitan Cities. In addition, conferences on the above mentioned areas of activity of the Center Metropolitan Cities are held in regular intervals.

Fachtagung Smart Building Solutions: smart-commercial-building.de/veranstaltungen/

Membership in the Center Metropolitan Cities

Enrollment

An enrollment in the Center Metropolitan Cities ensures the continuous cooperation between industry, academia, the public sector and politics. Various membership types address the individual requirements of businesses, depending on the desired intensity of cooperation.

Service offering of the Center Metropolitan Cities

As members of the Center Metropolitan Cities, companies benefit from the following advantages:

icon-zugehoerigkeit-300x234-200x156 Center Metropolitan Cities

Membership

  • Temporary use of shared desks
  • The right to lease event facilities
  • Use of the RWTH Aachen member logo
  • Exchange with other enrolled members
icon-community-300x234-200x156 Center Metropolitan Cities

Community

  • Annual conference as part of the Metropolitan Cities Congress
  • Participation in strategy boards
  • Access to the extranet and knowledge area
icon-konsortiale-forschung-300x234-200x156 Center Metropolitan Cities

Research & Development

  • Consortial R&D projects
  • Bilateral R&D projects
  • Annual research report
  • Submission of project suggestions
  • Involvement in the development of the project roadmap
  • Grants management
icon-dienstleistungen-200x156 Center Metropolitan Cities

Services

  • Consulting services (management workshops, etc.)
  • Use of infrastructure and personnel
  • Tailor-made solutions for members
  • Target-oriented further education options
Become part of our community and get actively involved in designing the future of metropolitan cities in a unique expert network!

Contact us today!

Gudergan_Gerhard Center Metropolitan Cities
Krechting_Denis_3x4_Web Center Metropolitan Cities
Dr.-Ing. Gerhard Gudergan
Managing Director
Metropolitan Cities MC GmbH
Mobile:   +49 (0) 1775790057
E-Mail: Gerhard.Gudergan@metropolitan-cities.com
Denis Krechting
Managing Director
Metropolitan Cities MC GmbH
Mobile: +49 (0) 15783026715
E-Mail: Denis.Krechting@metropolitan-cities.com

Center Metropolitan Cities

Imagemotiv-CMC©Center-Metropolitan-Cities_Web-e1579017800255 Center Metropolitan Cities

CMC

rwth_center_Metropolitan-Cities_RGB-600x243 Center Metropolitan Cities

Designing Ecosystems for Innovation

Die Nachhaltigkeitsziele der Vereinten Nationen, der Bundesregierung und der Regierung des Landes Nordrhein-Westfalen stehen im Mittelpunkt der Aktivitäten des Centers Metropolitan Cities: Das Center trägt dazu bei, dass die Metropolregion Rhein-Ruhr sich der CO²-Neutralität und Ressourcenschonung signifikant nähern kann.

Vision

Die Vision des Centers Metropolitan Cities besteht darin, ein ökonomisch und ökologisch sinnvolles Zukunftskonzept für durch Digitalisierung und neue Mobilitätsformen vernetzte Metropolregionen von morgen zu entwickeln und umzusetzen. Dies wird durch Innovationen in den Bereichen Mobilität, Gebäude, Logistik, Digitale Infrastrukturen und Energie auf gesellschaftlicher und technologischer Ebene erreicht. Es soll eine europäische Modellmetropole mit einzigartigem Charakter entstehen. Das Center Metropolitan Cities steht für diese übergeordnete Vision.

Zitat_Schuh Center Metropolitan Cities

Mission

Das Center Metropolitan Cities bündelt die notwendigen Kompetenzen auf dem RWTH Aachen Campus und darüber hinaus. Die Berücksichtigung der Belange der Städte und Kommunen, der öffentlichen Hand, der Politik, der Unternehmen und der Forschung ist gleichermaßen wichtig in der Arbeit des Centers. Inhaltlich konzentriert sich das Center Metropolitan Cities auf die Entwicklung der Methoden und Verfahren zur Gestaltung hochgradig interdependenter, komplexer Systeme, der Entwicklung von Szenarien und der Gestaltung und Erprobung neuer Umsetzungskonzepte.

Zitat_Gudergan_DE Center Metropolitan Cities
Zitat_Krechting Center Metropolitan Cities

Strategie

Die Ziele als Gemeinschaftsaufgabe

Die aus der Vision abgeleiteten Ziele des Centers Metropolitan Cities bestehen darin, ein ökonomisch und ökologisch sinnvolles Zukunftskonzept für durch Digitalisierung und neue Mobilitätsformen vernetzte Metropolregionen von morgen zu entwickeln und umzusetzen. Dies kann nur als eine Gemeinschaftsaufgabe verschiedenster Anspruchsgruppen und Beteiligten verstanden werden. Software- und Logistikindustrie, Fahrzeughersteller, produzierende Unternehmen, Stadtplaner und -verwaltungen, Versorgungsunternehmen, Telekommunikationsunternehmen und Netzbetreiber, Handelsunternehmen sowie Bürger erhalten mit dem Center eine Plattform, auf der sie agil und in Konsortien schnell zu ersten Prototypen, marktfähigen Angeboten und sogar neuen Unternehmensgründungen gelangen.

Auf dem RWTH Aachen Campus stellt das Center Metropolitan Cities damit eine offene Plattform für Kooperation bereit. Bereits jetzt werden die Herausforderungen für Metropolregionen im Center Metropolitan Cities in enger Kooperation mit anderen Centern auf dem RWTH Aachen Campus angegangen. Dazu gehören beispielsweise das Center Smart Commercial Building, die Center des Cluster Smart Logistik sowie das in der Initiierung befindliche Center Multimodale Mobilität. Das Center Metropolitan Cities unterstützt die Gründung weiterer Center zu Themen der Charging Infrastructures und der Urban Logistics.

Acht Handlungsfelder zur Erreichung der Ziele

Das Center Metropolitan Cities adressiert insgesamt acht ineinandergreifende Handlungsfelder, die alle relevanten Ansprüche der Vision des Centers adressieren und den Ordnungsrahmen bilden. Das Center versteht sich hierbei als Think Tank und gleichzeitig als Umsetzungsmotor für Vordenker und Akteure, die gemeinsam handeln wollen, um die Roadmaps für die unterschiedlichen Handlungsfelder auszugestalten und zu realisieren.

Schwerpunkte-1024x598 Center Metropolitan Cities

People & Mobility

Nicht enden wollende Staus behindern die Mobilität in der Metropolregion Rhein-Ruhr signifikant. Schon jetzt können hier einzelne Interessengruppen durch konkretes Handeln einen wirkungsvollen Lösungsbeitrag leisten. Arbeitgeber können Mitarbeiter beim Umstieg auf emissionsfreie Fahrzeuge unterstützen und kostenlose Lademöglichkeiten bieten. Der fahrplanmäßige ÖPNV kann durch Elektro-Kleinbusse ergänzt werden, um mehr individuellen Verkehr zu bündeln und das ÖPNV-Angebot besser auszulasten. Etablierte Unternehmen, Start-ups und der öffentliche Sektor erhalten Möglichkeiten, sich neu zu positionieren.

Logistics & Work

Der steigende Bedarf nach On-Demand-Lösungen verpflichtet die Metropolregion Rhein-Ruhr, Logistikkonzepte neu zu denken. Prozesse und Formen der Arbeit verändern sich signifikant. Neue Lösungen müssen für die sogenannte letzte Meile entwickelt werden. Technisch können bereits heute Zustellfahrzeuge die Arbeit im Zustelldienst entlasten, indem sie synchron mit diesem autonom weiterfahren, während die Zustellung bis zum Briefkasten erfolgt. Die Weiterentwicklung von emissionsfreien Transportmitteln wird im Center Metropolitan Cities deshalb genauso fokussiert, wie intelligente, autonome Systeme, die ein neues Produktivitätsniveau ermöglichen.

Smart Spaces &  Buildings

Durch die digitale Vernetzung von Bestands- und Neubauten mit weiteren Systemen strebt das Center Metropolitan Cities die Neudefinition der Rolle von Gebäuden und Quartieren in zukünftigen Mobilitäts- und Logistikkonzepten an. So können beispielsweise bestehende Park& Ride-Parkplätze und Parkhäuser für Pendler und Besucher ausgebaut und über ein On-Demand-Angebot mit elektrischen Kleinbussen angebunden werden. Parken von Individualfahrzeugen und Umsteigen in Kleinbusse wird damit komfortabler als die Fahrt in die Innenstadt mit dem eigenen Fahrzeug.

Cities & Regions

Die Städte, Gemeinden und deren übergeordnete Verbünde tragen mit ihren Handlungen und Regelungen dazu bei, dass sich die Wirtschaft nach den Prinzipien von Markt und Wettbewerb erfolgreich entwickeln kann. Die Städte und Gemeinden stellen heute schon Raum für die Infrastruktur und die Versorgung zur Verfügung, beispielsweise für den Ausbau von Ladesäulen. Sie bilden den Rahmen für zukünftige Verkehrs- und Mobilitätslösungen und stellen durch pragmatische Entscheidungen sicher, dass Teststrecken und Korridore für autonome Transport- und Mobilitätslösungen sich bereits heute in der Entwicklung befinden.

Use Case: Die Region der Zukunft: Digital vernetzt und nachhaltig

Die oben dargestellte Vision haben sich auch zahlreiche Unternehmen, Forschungseinrichtungen und die öffentliche Hand für die Entwicklung der fünftgrößten Metropolregion Europas, der Metropolregion Rhein-Ruhr, gesetzt und die durch das Center initiierte Initiative Metropolitan Cities und den gleichnamigen Kongress schon 2018 ins Leben gerufen. Ausgehend vom Potenzial von über 12 Mio. Einwohnern, etwa 400.000 Studierenden, den meisten Start-Up-Gründungen in Deutschland, etablierten Konzernen und High-Tech Start-Ups wurde eine einzigartige Zielsetzung für die Initiative Metropolitan Cities formuliert: die Abschaffung aller innovations- und mobilitätsbehindernder Barrieren. Das bedeutet, die Region verhält und entwickelt sich wie „ein großes Ganzes“. Ökosysteme für urbane Innovationen werden forciert und Innovationen werden unmittelbar in der Region umgesetzt und erprobt. Dass dies funktionieren kann, soll anhand der Bewerbung der Metropolregion Rhein-Ruhr um die Olympischen Spiele 2032 demonstriert werden. Diese könnten so zu den nachhaltigsten Olympischen Spielen der Neuzeit und zu einem Meilenstein für die Entwicklung der Metropolregion werden.

Die Aktivitäten des Centers Metropolitan Cities setzen dort an, wo man jeden Tag den Bedarf an Innovation vor Ort spüren kann. Die Metropolregion Rhein-Ruhr ist besonders dicht besiedelt. In der Staustatistik nimmt sie einen Spitzenplatz ein und man muss den Blick gar nicht erst auf die Grenzwerte von CO2, NOX oder SOX zu richten, um zu erkennen, dass etwas geändert werden muss. Viele Themen können unmittelbar angegangen werden und deshalb konzentriert sich Metropolitan Cities auf eben diese Themen und leitet daraus Handlungsfelder ab. So sollte ein großer Teil der Fahrten in den Städten so bald wie möglich emissionsfrei erfolgen, um Fahrverbote zu vermeiden. In stadtnahen Bereichen sollten mehr Menschen mit weniger Fahrzeugen bewegt werden können, um Staus und Parkplatznot zu reduzieren.

Auf dem Weg zur nachhaltig vernetzten Metropolregion sind allerdings zahlreiche Hürden zu nehmen. Unsere heutigen Mobilitätsangebote, Straßen und Trassen sind überlastet und können im Prinzip nur noch eingeschränkt die wachsenden Personen- und Güterströme aufnehmen. Anforderungen an saubere Städte fordern saubere Antriebskonzepte, wie Wasserstoff oder Elektrizität, deren Erfolg wiederum vom Ausbau der dafür nötigen Infrastrukturen abhängt. Die Verfügbarkeit von schneller und nahtloser Konnektivität ist noch kein Selbstverständnis und bremst auch in der Metropolregion Rhein-Ruhr eine schnelle Weiterentwicklung. Die Städte und Kommunen sind im Laufe der Jahrhunderte gewachsen. Quartiere und Gebäude, die durch neue Mobilitätsformen vernetzt sind und flexibel nutzbaren Raum für Leben und Arbeiten bieten, befinden sich noch in der Konzeptphase. Die Aktivitäten der Städte und Kommunen zielen auf die wesentlichen Schwerpunkte, könnten jedoch durch eine stärkere Abstimmung weitaus mehr Schlagkraft gewinnen. Es ist deshalb bedeutsam, die Vielzahl der Optionen in eine konvergente Entwicklungsstrategie zu integrieren.

Neuland Kongress als Kristallisationspunkt der Aktivitäten

Neben dem Center Metropolitan Cities  gibt es einen jährlichen Kongress. Der Kongress wird mit dem Partner Rhein Ruhr City GmbH gemeinsam veranstaltet. Der Auftakt erfolgte im Juli 2018 mit 450 Teilnehmern unter der Schirmherrschaft des Ministerpräsidenten des Landes Nordrhein-Westfalen, Armin Laschet. In über 45 hochkarätigen Vorträgen aus Politik, Industrie und Wissenschaft und neun Workshops wurden Zukunftstrends diskutiert und konkrete Lösungsansätze erarbeitet. Die zahlreichen Vorstände aus DAX-Konzernen trugen genauso wie der Bundesminister für Wirtschaft und Energie, Peter Altmaier, dazu bei, die Initiative zu unterstützen. Start-ups hatten die Möglichkeit sich vorzustellen und Investoren zu treffen. Im Juli 2019 konnten über 550 Gäste in Aachen begrüßt werden. Aktuelle Informationen zum Kongress Neuland (ehemals Kongress Metropolitan Cities) befinden sich unter https://www.neuland.today/.

Weitere Veranstaltungen von Metropolitan Cities

Der Kongress Neuland ist die Jahrestagung des Centers Metropolitan Cities. Neben diesem Kongress finden in regelmäßigen Abständen Tagungen zu den o.g. Handlungsfeldern des Centers Metropolitan Cities statt.

Fachtagung Smart Building Solutions: smart-commercial-building.de/veranstaltungen/

Mitgliedschaft im Center Metropolitan Cities

Immatrikulation

Die Immatrikulation im Center Metropolitan Cities sichert eine kontinuierliche Kooperation zwischen Industrie, Wissenschaft, öffentlicher Hand und Politik. Abhängig von der gewünschten Kooperationsintensität adressieren unterschiedliche Mitgliedschaftsarten die individuellen Bedürfnisse Ihres Unternehmens.

Leistungsangebot des Centers Metropolitan Cities

Unternehmen profitieren als Mitglieder im Center Metropolitan Cities von folgenden Vorteilen:

icon-zugehoerigkeit-300x234-200x156 Center Metropolitan Cities

Zugehörigkeit

  • Temporäre Nutzung von Shared Desks
  • Recht zur Anmietung von Veranstaltungsräumen
  • Nutzung RWTH Aachen Mitgliedslogos
  • Austausch mit immatrikulierten Mitgliedern
icon-community-300x234-200x156 Center Metropolitan Cities

Community

  • Jahrestagung im Rahmen des Metropolitan Cities Kongresses
  • Teilnahme an Strategy Boards
  • Zugang zum Extranet und zur Knowledge-Area
icon-konsortiale-forschung-300x234-200x156 Center Metropolitan Cities

Forschung & Entwicklung

  • Konsortiale F&E Projekte
  • Bilaterale F&E Projekte
  • Jährlicher Forschungsbericht
  • Einreichung von Projektvorschlägen
  • Mitgestaltung der Projektroadmap
  • Fördermittelmanagement
icon-dienstleistungen-200x156 Center Metropolitan Cities

Dienstleistungen

  • Beratungsleistungen (Mgmt.-Workshops etc.)
  • Nutzung von Infrastruktur und Personal
  • Maßgeschneiderte Lösungen für Mitglieder
  • Zielgerichtete Weiterbildungsmöglichkeiten
Werden Sie Teil unserer Community und gestalten aktiv die Zukunft von Metropolitan Cities in einem einzigartigen Expertennetzwerk mit!

Bitte sprechen Sie uns an!

Gudergan_Gerhard Center Metropolitan Cities
Krechting_Denis_3x4_Web Center Metropolitan Cities
Dr.-Ing. Gerhard Gudergan
Geschäftsführer
Metropolitan Cities MC GmbH
Mobil:   +49 1775790057
E-Mail: Gerhard.Gudergan@metropolitan-cities.com
Denis Krechting
Geschäftsführer
Metropolitan Cities MC GmbH
Mobil: +49 15783026715
E-Mail: Denis.Krechting@metropolitan-cities.com