Center Smart Sensing Systems

01_lmagemotivёSSS Center Smart Sensing Systems

CS3

rwth_center_Smart_Sensing_Systems_RGB-600x308 Center Smart Sensing Systems

Detect Early and Act Autonomously

A new generation of cyber-physical systems based on autonomously acting structures

The integration of sensor technology allows a mechanical, load-bearing component and its superordinate system to become intelligent, allowing them to autonomously detect and respond to damage or other faults. This capability paves the way for significant cost savings for inspection and maintenance. Early fault and damage detection facilitates more lightweight and safer designs for structural components, and therefore optimized structural exploitation. In combination with the development of digital twins, this capability represents a significant foundation for a new generation of cyber-physical systems.

The development of intelligent structures and systems is a highly interdisciplinary challenge, requiring outstanding depth of expertise in the various disciplines like sensor integration, data and signal processing, quality assurance, fracture mechanics and simulation. The Center Smart Sensing Systems bundles this professional expertise and is a central platform for the development of these systems. In these efforts, the center relies on the industry network smartSHM (Structural Health Monitoring) with more than 60 companies, which was initiated in 2017. This industry network maps the entire value creation chain from development to manufacture and operation.

The objectives of the center, however, go beyond mere structural health monitoring, which – for the most part – deals with damage monitoring only. In an effort to exploit the full potential of automated measurement methods, other smart functionalities and services that are created by way of sensor integration are holistically observed (e.g. load monitoring or the transfer of measurement data to a digital twin). The digital twin will then permit a mapping of the component and the entire system, from which individual residual service life estimations or operation optimization options can be derived.

03_Digitaler_Zwilling Center Smart Sensing Systems

MMI

Digital twin of a car
02_CFK-SpantёAZL-Aachen_SLA Center Smart Sensing Systems

AZL Aachen/SLA

Airplane frame made of carbon fiber-reinforced plastic under bending with strain simulation overlay (right)

Areas of Competence

The development of cyber-physical systems requires a holistic approach, which combines all solution-relevant steps in the various disciplines, while simultaneously creating the required interaction points between them. The following areas of competence are represented by the Center Smart Sensing Systems:

  • Simulation of damaged components and their superordinate systems
  • Sensor technology and measurement methods
  • Sensor integration and production
  • Digitization and value creation
  • System integration in the application

Our Offer

Companies have the option of enrolling as a member in the Center Smart Sensing Systems no matter which sector the company operates in. They will have access to the scientific expertise of the associated research institutes at RWTH Aachen University, best practice solutions within the community, and will collaborate in consortial and bilateral projects. Joint research and development within industry consortia allow participating companies to join their know-how and share costs. Enrolled members furthermore have the option of participating with their own products in system demonstrators. That allows them to integrate their own intelligent components, measurement equipment etc. in a demonstrator on system level to display their functionality.

Depending on the desired type of membership (Premium, Business or Basic), members will be assigned a variety of rights within the five benefit categories:
icon-zugehoerigkeit-300x234-200x156 Center Smart Sensing Systems

Membership

  • Access to the RWTH Aachen Campus community
  • Temporary use of shared desks
  • The right to lease conference rooms
  • Use of the RWTH Aachen Campus member logo
icon-community-300x234-200x156 Center Smart Sensing Systems

Community

  • Annual congress on the topic of smart sensing systems
  • Various specialist workshops
icon-konsortiale-forschung-300x234-200x156 Center Smart Sensing Systems

Research & Development

  • Consortial R&D projects
  • Bilateral R&D projects
  • Co-determination of project topics
  • Participation in strategy planning
  • Joint development of system demonstrators
icon-dienstleistungen-200x156 Center Smart Sensing Systems

Services

  • Consulting service for the development and use of smart sensing systems
  • Placements with testing facilities and prototype workshops of the associated institutes
  • Integration of own modules and components in system demonstrators
  • Certification of modules and interface points in compliance with universal standards developed jointly by the members
icon-weiterbildung-300x234-200x156 Center Smart Sensing Systems

Further Education

  • Interdisciplinary seminar “Smart Sensing Systems – Theory and Practical Implementation”

Events

A Online seminar series of Center Smart Sensing Systems will take place from June to October 2021. The participation for seminar series is free of charge. The seminar series includes a great variety of different topics such as: Digital twin in smart sensing systems, new developments in sensor integration, Data-based business models in mechanical engineering, etc.

More information, (including the date of presentations)
can be found here.

registration
Center-Smart-Sensing-Systems-2-scaled Center Smart Sensing Systems

SLA

Initiators of the Center Smart Sensing Systems

04_InitiatorenSchroeder-466x600 Center Smart Sensing Systems

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Kai-Uwe Schröder

Prof. Schröder heads up the Institute of Structural Mechanics and Lightweight Design (SLA) and represents the development of new methods for the design of lightweight structures. The institute uses this knowhow for the development of new concepts for structural health monitoring and for the mapping of the structural state in the digital twin.

05_Initiatoren-Gries-466x600 Center Smart Sensing Systems

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Thomas Gries

Prof. Gries leads the Institute of Textile Technology and conducts research on fiber-based high performance materials, textile semi-finished products and their production procedures. The institute’s expertise contributes to the development, manufacture and integration of sensor technology, thus contributing to the interface between actual loads and the digital twin.

06_Initiatoren-Roámann-466x600 Center Smart Sensing Systems

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Jürgen Roßmann

Prof. Roßmann heads up the Institute for Man-Machine Interaction and is himself an expert for the interaction, simulation and analysis of complex systems in their deployment environment. To that end, digital twins combine applications, users and systems across their lifecycles.

07_Initiatoren-Heinen-466x600 Center Smart Sensing Systems

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Stefan Heinen

Prof. Heinen heads up the Chair of Integrated Analog Circuits and RF Systems and brings years of experience in the areas of metrology, detection, and the processing of analog and digital signals to the table. In conjunction with power management, the chair develops on that basis electronics for the structural health monitoring and data processing.

Contact

Smart-Sensing-Systems_Sadeghi_n Center Smart Sensing Systems
Dr. -Ing. Zamaan Sadeghi
Phone: +49 241 80-96837
Email: zamaan.sadeghi@sla.rwth-aachen.de

Center Smart Sensing Systems

Center Smart Sensing Systems

CS3

Center Smart Sensing Systems

Detect Early and Act Autonomously

Mit autonom reagierenden Strukturen zu einer neuen Generation Cyber-Physischer Systeme

Durch die Integration von Sensorik werden eine mechanische, lasttragende Komponente und ihr übergeordnetes System intelligent, sodass sie Schädigungen oder andere Störungen selbstständig erkennen und entsprechend darauf reagieren können. Durch diese Fähigkeit lässt sich der Inspektions- und Wartungsaufwand signifikant reduzieren. Die frühzeitige Fehler- und Schadenserkennung ermöglicht eine leichtere und sicherere Gestaltung struktureller Bauteile und somit eine Optimierung der Strukturausnutzung. Zugleich stellt diese Fähigkeit gemeinsam mit der Entwicklung Digitaler Zwillinge eine entscheidende Grundlage für eine neue Generation Cyber-Physischer Systeme dar.

Die Entwicklung intelligenter Strukturen und Systeme ist eine stark interdisziplinäre Herausforderung, bei der zugleich in den einzelnen Disziplinen – wie beispielsweise Sensorintegration, Daten- und Signalverarbeitung, Qualitätssicherung, Bruchmechanik und Simulation – eine hohe fachliche Tiefe benötigt wird. Das Center Smart Sensing Systems bündelt diese fachliche Kompetenzen und ist eine zentrale Plattform zur Entwicklung solcher Systeme. Das Center baut hierbei auf das 2017 initiierte Industrienetzwerk smartSHM (Structural Health Monitoring) mit über 60 Unternehmen auf, das gemeinsam die komplette Wertschöpfungskette von der Entwicklung über die Fertigung bis hin zum Betrieb abbildet.

Die Ziele des Centers gehen jedoch über das bloße Structural Health Monitoring, das sich im Wesentlichen mit der Zustandsüberwachung befasst, hinaus. Um das volle Potential automatisierter Messmethoden auszuschöpfen, werden auf ganzheitlicher Ebene weitere smarte Funktionalitäten und Dienstleistungen betrachtet, die durch die Sensorintegration entstehen, wie z. B. das Loads Monitoring oder die Überführung der Messdaten zu einem Digitalen Zwilling. Der Digitale Zwilling ermöglicht dann die Abbildung der Komponente und des Gesamtsystems, woraus sich wiederum individuelle Lebensdauerprognosen oder eine Betriebsoptimierung ableiten lässt.

Digitaler Zwilling von einem PKW

MMI

Digitaler Zwilling von einem PKW
Flugzeugspant aus kohlefaserverstärktem Kunststoff unter Biegung mit überlagerter Verformungssimulation

AZL Aachen/SLA

Flugzeugspant aus kohlefaserverstärktem Kunststoff unter Biegung mit überlagerter Verformungssimulation (rechts)

Vision

  • Innovationsführerschaft bei sensitiven Produkten und autonom agierenden Systemen.
      • Erhöhung der Verfügbarkeit von Bauteilen und Maschinen
      • Gewicht- und Materialeinsparung
      • Rückgang von Stillstandzeiten und Ausfällen
      •  Effizienz- und Qualitätserhöhung bei Produktion und Instandhaltung
      • signifikante Kostenreduktion in Produktion und Betrieb
  • Entwicklung und Etablierung einer neuen Generation Cyber-Physischer Systeme, Produkte und Dienstleistungen, die zu einer ‘‘Enabling-Technology“ für Digitalisierung, Vernetzung und Automatisierung wird.
  • Zentrale Anlaufstelle für alle, die sich mit Zustandsüberwachung und der Funktionsintegration beschäftigen oder einen Anteil zu entsprechenden Lösungen beitragen wollen.

Mission

  • Entwicklung smarter SHM-Lösungen auf Basis ‘‘fühlender“, sich selbst diagnostizierender und eigenständig agierender Komponenten.
  • Abdeckung des kompletten Produktlebenszyklusses, von der Produktentwicklung bis zur integrierten Nutzung in Serienbauteilen und komplexen technischen Systemen.
  • Weiterführung und Ausbau des Technologienetzwerks smartSHM, bestehend aus
      • Komponentenherstellern
      • Systementwicklern
      • Sensorherstellern
      • Anwendern/Betreibern
      • Dienstleistern

Kompetenzfelder

Die Entwicklung Cyber-Physischer Systeme erfordert einen ganzheitlichen Ansatz, der alle zur Lösung relevanten Schritte in den einzelnen Fachdisziplinen miteinander vereint und dabei die notwendigen Schnittstellen zwischen diesen schafft. Folgende Kompetenzfelder werden vom Center Smart Sensing Systems umfasst:

• Simulation beschädigter Komponenten und ihrer übergeordneten Systeme
• Sensorik und Messtechnik
• Sensorintegration und -produktion
• Digitalisierung und Wertschöpfung
• Systemintegration in der Anwendung

Leistungsangebot

Unternehmen können sich unabhängig ihrer Branche als Mitglied im Center Smart Sensing Systems immatrikulieren. Sie erhalten somit Zugriff auf die wissenschaftliche Expertise der beteiligten Forschungsinstitute der RWTH Aachen University, auf Best Practice-Lösungen innerhalb der Community und arbeiten in konsortialen und bilateralen Projekten zusammen. Durch die gemeinsame Forschung und Entwicklung in industriellen Konsortien bündeln die Unternehmen ihr Know-how und teilen sich den Aufwand. Weiterhin steht immatrikulierten Mitgliedern die Möglichkeit zur Verfügung, sich mit ihren Produkten in Systemdemonstratoren zu beteiligen. Sie können so eigene intelligente Komponenten, Messtechnik o. ä. in einen Demonstrator auf Systemebene integrieren und ihre Funktionsweise veranschaulichen.

Je nach gewünschter Mitgliedsart (Premium, Business oder Basis) erhalten Mitglieder unterschiedliche Rechte innerhalb der fünf Leistungsbausteine:
icon-zugehoerigkeit-300×234

Zugehörigkeit

  • Zugang zur RWTH Aachen Campus Community
  • Recht zur Anmietung von Konferenzräumen
  • Nutzung des RWTH Aachen Campus Mitgliedslogos
icon-community-300×234

Community

  • Jährlicher Fachkongress zum Thema Smart Sensing Systems
  • Diverse fachspezifische Workshops
icon-konsortiale-forschung-300×234

Forschung & Entwicklung

  • Konsortiale F&E Projekte
  • Bilaterale F&E Projekte
  • Mitgestaltung der Projektthemen
  • Teilnahme an der Strategieplanung
  • Gemeinsamer Aufbau von Systemdemonstratoren
icon-dienstleistungen

Dienstleistungen

  • Beratungsleistung zur Entwicklung und Nutzung von Smart Sensing Systems
  • Vermittlung zu Prüfständen und Prototypen-Werkstätten der angebundenen Institute
  • Integration eigener Module und Komponenten in Systemdemonstratoren
  • Zertifizierung von Modulen und Schnittstellen gemäß einheitlicher Standards, die mit den Mitgliedern gemeinsam entwickelt wurden
icon-weiterbildung-300×234

Weiterbildung

  • Interdisziplinäres Seminar „Smart Sensing Systems – Theorie und Umsetzung in der Praxis“

Veranstaltungen

Kick-Off & Konsortialprojekte

An der Kick-Off-Veranstaltung des Centers Smart Sensing Systems am 26. Oktober 2021 in Aachen nahmen eine Vielzahl Industrievertreter aus verschiedenen Branchen teil. Das Center stellte dabei sich, seine Expertise und die Dienstleistungen, die es seinen Mitgliedern anbietet, vor. Das Feedback der Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer floss direkt in die Konzeption der Konsortialstudien ein, die 2022 umgesetzt werden:

Der Start aller Projekte ist für das 1. Quartal 2022 geplant. Zum Start des Centers können alle Interessenten zu einem Sonderpreis an diesen Konsortialprojekten teilnehmen.

Jetzt anmelden

Online-Seminarreihe

Die Online-Seminarreihe des Center Smart Sensing Systems fand von Juni bis Oktober 2021 statt. Sie umfasste eine Vielzahl unterschiedlicher Themen wie z.B.:  Digitaler Zwilling in Smart Sensing Systemen, neue Entwicklungen in der Sensorintegration, datenbasierte Geschäftsmodelle im Maschinenbau.

SLA

Initiatoren des Centers Smart Sensing Systems

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Kai-Uwe Schröder

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Kai-Uwe Schröder

Prof. Schröder leitet das Institut für Strukturmechanik und Leichtbau und steht für die Entwicklung neuer Methoden zur Auslegung von Leichtbaustrukturen. Dieses Wissen wird am Institut genutzt zur Entwicklung neuer Konzepte zur Strukturüberwachung und zur Abbildung des strukturellen Zustands im Digitalen Zwilling.

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Thomas Gries

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Thomas Gries

Prof. Gries leitet das Institut für Textiltechnik und forscht an faserbasierten Hochleistungswerkstoffen, textilen Halbzeugen und deren Fertigungsverfahren. Die Expertise des Instituts fließt in die Entwicklung, Fertigung und Integration von Sensorik ein und leistet so einen Beitrag zur Schnittstelle zwischen realen Belastungen und dem Digitalen Zwilling.

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Jürgen Roßmann

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Jürgen Roßmann

Prof. Roßmann leitet das Institut für Mensch-Maschine-Interaktion und ist Spezialist für Interaktion, Simulation und Analyse komplexer Systeme in ihrer Einsatzumgebung. Hierzu führen Digitale Zwillinge Anwendungen, Nutzer und Systeme über ihren Lebenszyklus zusammen.

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Stefan Heinen

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Stefan Heinen

Prof. Heinen leitet den Lehrstuhl für Integrierte Analogschaltungen und bringt jahrelange Erfahrung in den Bereichen Messtechnik, Detektion, Verarbeitung von analogen und digitalen Signalen mit. Zusammen mit dem Power Management wird am Lehrstuhl unter Verwendung dieser Grundlagen Elektronik zur Strukturüberwachung und Zusammenführung der Daten entwickelt.

Kontakt

Ansprechpartner Sadeghi
Dr. -Ing. Zamaan Sadeghi
Telefon: +49 241 80-96837
E-Mail: zamaan.sadeghi@sla.rwth-aachen.de