Center Factory Planning

Image_Factory-Planning_RWTH-Aachen-Campus Center Factory Planning

WZL der RWTH Aachen

Logo-Center-Factory-Planning Center Factory Planning

Tearing down walls

The central mission of our Center Factory Planning is the research and development of tomorrow’s factory. The main focus is on the central question of how to speed up factory planning and make it more effective to have better and more efficient factories as a result. The basis here is the interdisciplinary research done at RWTH Aachen University and on RWTH Aachen Campus, specifically at the Laboratory for Machine Tools and Production Engineering (WZL). The Center Factory Planning allows access to latest research findings and is at the same time a central platform for planners, implementers, software companies and factory operators. Together, we facilitate process and digital integration in factory and facility planning.
YouTube

By loading the video, you agree to YouTube's privacy policy.
Learn more

Load video

Fields of Competence

Fabrik-der-Zukunft_Factory-Planning_RWTH-Aachen-Campus Center Factory Planning

Autodesk GmbH

The Factory of the Future

Increasing effectiveness and efficiency in factory planning, construction and operation, as well as transition to best practice standards and modular solutions.

Integrated-Factory-Modeling_Factory-Planning_RWTH-Aachen-Campus Center Factory Planning

Autodesk GmbH

Integrated Factory Modeling

Building Information Modeling (BIM) and Industrie 4.0, as well as the integration of Artificial Intelligence (AI) in factory planning processes.

Nachhaltigkeit-Fabrik-der-Zukunft_Factory-Planning_RWTH-Aachen-Campus Center Factory Planning

Autodesk GmbH

Sustainability in the Factory of the Future

Conceptualization of urban factories as production facilities of the future and life cycle costing.

Membership Types in the Center Factory Planning

We offer three types of memberships: Basic, Business and Premium. Depending on the type of membership, members enjoy various rights within the five benefit categories.

The benefit categories are:

  • Membership
  • Research & Developement
  • Community
  • Further Education
  • Services
Various companies bundle their know-how in consortial projects and share the expense – allowing the implementation of research projects, which could otherwise not be attempted. Members participate in decisions on technological topics and fields of research for the upcoming years, take advantage of discipline-specific further education offerings for their own staff and utilize the generated knowledge for their own innovation process.

Initiators

Factory-Planning_Schuh Center Factory Planning

Prof. Dr. Günther Schuh

Chair of Production Engineering at RWTH Aachen University

As holder of the Chair of Production Engineering, Prof. Schuh promotes the close link between research and industry at the Laboratory for Machine Tools and Production Engineering (WZL) of RWTH Aachen University. With the construction and commissioning of Werk 1 (Factory 1) of e.GO Mobile AG, he has created a unique application example of integrated factory planning.

Factory-Planning_Burggräf Center Factory Planning

Prof. Dr. Peter Burggräf

Chair of International Production Engineering and Management University of Siegen

Prof. Burggräf holds the Chair of International Production Engineering and Management at the University of Siegen. He is also Managing Director of StreetScooter Research GmbH, a spin-off of the WZL, which specializes in production system design.

Factory-Planning_Dannapfel Center Factory Planning

Dr. Matthias Dannapfel

Department for Factory Planning at the Chair of Production Engineering at RWTH Aachen University

As Senior Engineer of the department for Factory Planning at the Chair of Production Engineering, Dr. Dannapfel focuses on facility structure and assembly planning, as well as on digital factory planning. He is co-founder of ONEFACTORY GmbH, which specializes in the general planning of factories.

Contact

Center Factory Planning
Dr. Matthias Dannapfel
Tel. +49 241 80-26264

Center Factory Planning

Image_Factory-Planning_RWTH-Aachen-Campus Center Factory Planning

WZL der RWTH Aachen

Logo-Center-Factory-Planning Center Factory Planning

Tearing down walls

Die zentrale Mission unseres Centers Factory Planning ist die Entwicklung und Erforschung der Fabrik von morgen. Im Mittelpunkt steht die zentrale Frage, wie die Fabrikplanung effektiver und schneller wird, um auch die Fabriken besser und effizienter zu gestalten. Grundlage hierfür ist die interdisziplinäre Forschung an der RWTH Aachen University und auf dem RWTH Aachen Campus, inbesondere am Werkzeugmaschinenlabor. Das Center Factory Planning ermöglicht dabei den Zugriff auf neueste Forschungsergebnisse und ist zugleich die zentrale Plattform aus Planern, Realisierern, Softwareunternehmern und Fabrikbetreibern. Gemeinsam befähigen wir die prozessuale sowie digitale Integration der Fabrik- und Gebäudeplanung.

Kompetenzfelder

Fabrik-der-Zukunft_Factory-Planning_RWTH-Aachen-Campus Center Factory Planning

Autodesk GmbH

Fabrik der Zukunft

Steigerung von Effektivität und Effizienz in der Fabrikplanung, Bau und Betrieb sowie Überführung in Best Practice Standards und Baukästen.

Integrated-Factory-Modeling_Factory-Planning_RWTH-Aachen-Campus Center Factory Planning

Autodesk GmbH

Integrated Factory Modeling

Building Information Modeling (BIM) und Industrie 4.0 sowie Integration von künstlicher Intelligenz in Fabrikplanungsprozessen.

Nachhaltigkeit-Fabrik-der-Zukunft_Factory-Planning_RWTH-Aachen-Campus Center Factory Planning

Autodesk GmbH

Nachhaltigkeit in der Fabrik der Zukunft

Konzipierung urbaner Fabriken als Standort der Produktion der Zukunft und Life-Cycle-Costing.

Mitgliedschaft im Center Factory Planning

Wir bieten drei Mitgliedschaftsarten an: Basis, Business und Premium. Je nach Mitgliedschaftsart genießen die Mitglieder unterschiedliche Rechte innerhalb der fünf Leistungsbausteine.

Die fünf Leistungsbausteine umfassen

  • Zugehörigkeit
  • Forschung & Entwicklung
  • Community
  • Weiterbildung
  • Dienstleistungen
In konsortialen Projekten bündeln verschiedene Unternehmen ihr Know-how und teilen sich den Aufwand – so können Forschungsprojekte durchgeführt werden, die sonst nicht zustande kämen. Die Mitglieder bestimmen die Technologiethemen und Forschungsschwerpunkte der nächsten Jahre mit, nutzen fachspezifische Weiterbildungsangebote für das eigene Personal und verwenden das entstehende Wissen für ihren Innovationsprozess.

Initiatoren

Factory-Planning_Schuh Center Factory Planning

Prof. Dr. Günther Schuh

Lehrstuhl für Produktionssystematik an der RWTH Aachen University

Als Inhaber des Lehrstuhls für Produktionssystematik treibt Prof. Schuh die enge Verknüpfung von Forschung und Industrie am Werkzeugmaschinenlabor WZL der RWTH Aachen voran. Mit dem Bau und der Inbetriebnahme des Werk 1 der e.GO Mobile AG hat er ein einmaliges Anwendungsbeispiel der integrierten Fabrikplanung geschaffen.

Factory-Planning_Burggräf Center Factory Planning

Prof. Dr. Peter Burggräf

Lehrstuhl für International Production Engineering and Management an der Universität Siegen

Prof. Burggräf ist Inhaber des Lehrstuhls für International Production Engineering and Management an der Universität Siegen. Darüber hinaus ist er Geschäftsführer der StreetScooter Research GmbH, einer Ausgründung des WZL, die sich unter anderem auf die Produktionssystemgestaltung spezialisiert hat.

Factory-Planning_Dannapfel Center Factory Planning

Dr. Matthias Dannapfel

Abteilung für Fabrikplanung am Lehrstuhl für Produktionssystematik der RWTH Aachen University

Als Oberingenieur der Abteilung Fabrikplanung am Lehrstuhl für Produktionssystematik liegt der Fokus von Dr. Dannapfel sowohl auf der klassischen Werksstruktur- und Montageplanung als auch auf der digitalen Fabrikplanung. Er ist zudem Mitbegründer der ONEFACTORY GmbH, die sich auf die Generalplanung von Fabriken konzentriert.

Kontakt

Center Factory Planning
Dr. Matthias Dannapfel
Tel. +49 241 80-26264