BIM Center Aachen

BIM-Center-Imagemotive-für-Website BIM Center Aachen

E3D

BIM Center Aachen

New network between science and market-leading industrial companies in building technology and fastening technology

With increasing automation and digitalization, the construction sector is facing a fundamental paradigm change across the entire value creation chain for construction and operation. Changes to the supply chain, intelligent asset management and machine learning are key future trends that will affect the construction and fixing technology specifically. “Many do digital planning, but only very few have the ability for digital implementation. In particular, the translation of digital models from planning to practical construction implementation is a very serious problem today, as is the technical commissioning of complex systems. A lean production can be done beyond the constraints of individual companies if the digital processes and touchpoints for production, construction implementation and operation are standardized and the technicians are suitably qualified, explains Prof. van Treeck, Chair of Energy Efficiency and Sustainable Building at RWTH Aachen University.

The BIM Center Aachen addresses digitalization in the construction sector from the viewpoint of manufacturers and implementing companies with the objective of introducing Building Information Modeling (BIM) into the implementation phase. The focus here is on the processes and touchpoints between production, prefabrication, delivery, installation, construction implementation, logistics, commissioning, documentation, maintenance, computer-aided facility management (CAFM) and dismantling after digital planning is complete. In addition to research and development, the new center on RWTH Aachen Campus will in future additionally support qualification and certification in the area of BIM. The BIM Center Aachen will act as a cross-sectoral network connecting academia and industry and will initially focus on technical building equipment.

The combination of high-resolution inventory data collection with machine learning methods and intelligent asset management is one of the many challenges and new opportunities of digital construction and operation that will be addressed by the actors in the BIM Center Aachen. The formation of systems helps to simplify the complexity of technical equipment for craftsmen. In order to put this into practice, the interaction of different experts from engineering, building computer science and technical building management is necessary.

Initiators and founding members

The center is under the academic leadership of Prof. Christoph van Treeck, Chair of Energy Efficiency and Sustainable Building at RWTH Aachen University. Founding members are the companies Hilti, Oventrop, Viega, Viessmann and TROX. The initiators of the center are four RWTH institutes from the faculties for Civil Engineering, Mechanical Engineering and Architecture: The Chair for Energy Efficiency and Sustainable Building (E3D), the Chair for Energy Efficient Buildings and Indoor Climate (EBC), the Chair for Building Informatics & Geoinformation Systems (GIA) and the Chair for Computer-Aided Architectural Design (CAAD).

Contact

Prof. Dr.-Ing. habil. Christoph van Treeck
Phone +49 241 80-25030
Email: treeck@e3d.rwth-aachen.de

BIM Center Aachen

BIM-Center-Imagemotive-für-Website BIM Center Aachen

E3D

   BIM Center Aachen

Neues Netzwerk zwischen Wissenschaft und marktführenden Industrieunternehmen in der Gebäudetechnik und Befestigungstechnik

Mit der zunehmenden Automatisierung und Digitalisierung steht das Bauwesen vor einem grundlegenden Paradigmenwechsel über die gesamte Wertschöpfungskette des Bauens und Betreibens. Veränderungen in der Lieferkette, intelligentes Asset-Management und maschinelles Lernen sind wichtige Zukunftstrends, die besonders die Gebäude- und Befestigungstechnik betreffen. “Digitale Planung machen viele, digitales Ausführen können nur wenige. Insbesondere die Übernahme digitaler Modelle aus der Planung in die Bauausführung ist heute eine ernste Herausforderung, ebenso wie die technische Inbetriebnahme komplexer Systeme. Eine schlanke Produktion ist auch über Unternehmensgrenzen hinweg möglich, wenn digitale Prozesse und Schnittstellen für die Fertigung, Bauausführung und den Betrieb etabliert und Fachhandwerker qualifiziert sind,” so van Treeck.

Das BIM Center Aachen adressiert die Digitalisierung im Bauwesen aus Sicht von Herstellern und ausführenden Unternehmen mit dem Ziel, Building Information Modeling (BIM) in die Ausführung zu bringen. Dabei stehen die Prozesse und Schnittstellen nach Abschluss der digitalen Planung im Vordergrund, zwischen Herstellung, Vorfertigung, Lieferung, Montage, Bauausführung, Logistik, Inbetriebnahme, Dokumentation, Wartung, Computergestütztem Facility Management (CAFM) und Rückbau. Neben Forschung und Entwicklung unterstützt das neue Center auf dem RWTH Aachen Campus künftig auch die Qualifizierung und Zertifizierung im Bereich BIM. Das BIM Center Aachen agiert hierbei als branchenübergreifender Verbund zwischen Wissenschaft und Industrie und setzt in der Startphase zunächst einen Schwerpunkt auf die technische Gebäudeausrüstung.

Die Verknüpfung von hochauflösender Bestandsdatenerfassung mit Methoden des maschinellen Lernens und dem intelligenten Asset-Management ist eine von vielen Herausforderungen und neuen Chancen des digitalen Bauens und Betreibens, die die Akteure im BIM Center Aachen angehen werden. Die Bildung von Systemen hilft, die Komplexität technischer Anlagen für Handwerker zu vereinfachen. Um dies in der Praxis umzusetzen, ist das Zusammenspiel verschiedener Experten aus den Ingenieurwissenschaften, der Bauinformatik und dem technischen Gebäudemanagement nötig.

Initiatoren und Gründungsmitglieder des BIM Centers Aachen

Das Center steht unter der wissenschaftlichen Leitung von Professor Christoph van Treeck, Lehrstuhl für Energieeffizientes Bauen an der RWTH Aachen University. Gründungsmitglieder sind die Unternehmen Hilti, Oventrop, Trox, Viega,Viessmann und TROX. Initiatoren des Centers sind vier RWTH Institute der Fakultäten für Bauingenieurwesen sowie Maschinenbau und Architektur: der Lehrstuhl für Energieeffizientes Bauen (E3D), der Lehrstuhl für Gebäude- und Raumklimatechnik (EBC), der Lehrstuhl für Bauinformatik & Geoinformationssysteme (GIA) und der Lehrstuhl für Computergestütztes Entwerfen (CAAD).

Kontakt

Prof. Dr.-Ing. habil. Christoph van Treeck
Telefon +49 241 80-25030
E-Mail: treeck@e3d.rwth-aachen.de