Center Smart Industrial Agriculture

Imagemotiv_Copyright_Storms-3-scaled Center Smart Industrial Agriculture

Storms

Logo_Smart_Industrial_Agriculture_RGB Center Smart Industrial Agriculture

Grow More with Less

Agriculture was industrialized over the course of the last century – this development will only accelerate during the 21st century. The aim is that a lesser number of farmers produces more on the same area of agricultural land. Agricultural production growth was bought with significant negative consequences for the environment, in terms of water consumption, loss of biodiversity and pollution. The structure of a sustainable and more productive agriculture of the future will be similar to today’s manufacturing industry and can therefore be based on its approach. Performance and productivity of the various types of cultivation can be further increased with the use of production technology. In this context, the performance of soil-based production (i.e. agriculture) can be optimized with sensor technology, mobile robotics and networking of components, while in off-ground production (vertical farming), production management and process automation can revolutionize the industrial production of agricultural goods.

Vision

The Center Smart Industrial Agriculture seeks to introduce a paradigm change in today’s agriculture. The aim is to sustainably support today’s industrial agriculture with its predominantly less resource-conserving cultivation with industrially established processes, methods and tools to support a more circular economy.

The center is expected to play a key role in shaping the future agricultural value chain as a one-stop shop in the agricultural market for Smart Agriculture (soil-based production) and Industrial Agriculture (soil-independent production).

Mission

The vision can only be addressed in an interdisciplinary approach that combines academia and industry, as well as agriculture and production technology. The center collaborates with several chairs at RWTH Aachen University (including the Laboratory for Machine Tools and Production Engineering WZL and the Chair of Biotechnology), with regional and national businesses, and with associations and cities. Here, new approaches for the efficient development of innovative products, services and business models for the agricultural value chain are generated and an influential and interdisciplinary network is being established, which is essential – and to date unique – for this topic area. In addition to building knowledge and sharing best practices, this network elaborates on specific topics and implements collaborative and pre-competitive projects. On that basis, living labs (e.g. Living Field, Living Greenhouse and Living Vertical Farm) can be created in the medium term to position themselves as start-up incubators for the food market.
S-Kurven_EN Center Smart Industrial Agriculture
Current status and potential of cultivation types in the context of a smart, industrialized agriculture

Areas of Competence

The development of sustainable concepts for agriculture requires a holistic approach that combines all the steps relevant to the solution in the individual disciplines, while simultaneously creating the necessary interfaces between them. The Center Smart Industrial Agriculture comprises the following areas of competence:

  • Machine technology
  • Control and automation technology
  • Production management
  • Innovation management
  • Biotechnology
  • Molecular bioeconomy

Research Topics

On the one hand, the Center Smart Industrial Agriculture addresses topics that will result in significant increases in productivity for traditional, soil-based production. On the other, it conducts interdisciplinary research on production technology and biotechnology in the field of soil-independent food production. To that end, an interdisciplinary team of academics from the participating institutes collaborates with a consortium of companies on visionary solutions to questions from the following key topics:

  • Communication technology
  • Redesign of value chains and business models
  • Resource efficiency in agricultural management
  • Routing of autonomous vehicles
  • Situational awareness (AI, Big Data, sensor fusion)
  • Trailer machinery electrification
  • Cultivation process automation
  • Control technology (control system technology)
  • Interlinking of processes and intralogistics
  • Disruptive industrial production
  • Crop science
  • Vertical farming

Service Offering

Individual businesses can enroll as members of the Center Smart Industrial Agriculture regardless of their industry affiliation. An enrollment gives them access to the scientific expertise of the participating research institutes at RWTH Aachen University, to best practice solutions within the community, and the opportunity to collaborate in consortial and bilateral projects. Through joint research and development in an industrial consortium, the companies pool their know-how and share the effort. Enrolled members can furthermore participate with their products in living labs. They can then integrate their own solutions and approaches in a demonstrator to illustrate how they work.
Interessensgruppen_EN Center Smart Industrial Agriculture
Potential stakeholders for the Center Smart Industrial Agriculture
Depending on the type of membership (Premium, Business or Basic), members will be assigned different rights within the five benefit categories:
icon-zugehoerigkeit-300x234-200x156 Center Smart Industrial Agriculture

Membership

  • Access to RWTH Aachen Campus Community
  • Temporary use of shared desks
  • The right to lease conference rooms
  • Use of the RWTH Aachen Campus membership logo
icon-community-300x234-200x156 Center Smart Industrial Agriculture

Community

  • Annual congress on the topic of Smart Industrial Agriculture
  • Various topic-specific workshops
icon-konsortiale-forschung-300x234-200x156 Center Smart Industrial Agriculture

Research & Development

  • Consortial R&D projects
  • Bilateral R&D projects
  • Involvement in consortial research studies and benchmarking
  • Involvement in the development of project topics
  • Participation in strategic planning
  • Consortial establishment of living labs
icon-dienstleistungen-200x156 Center Smart Industrial Agriculture

Services

  • Consulting services in the field of Smart Industrial Agriculture
  • Strategy meetings on the orientation of the center and the alignment of member companies
  • Use of living labs to test innovative solutions
icon-weiterbildung-300x234-200x156 Center Smart Industrial Agriculture

Further Education

  • Company-specific in-house courses
  • Open seminar offering on the topic area of Smart Industrial Agriculture

Initiators of the Center Smart Industrial Agriculture

Initiator-Brecher_Copyright-WZL_ Center Smart Industrial Agriculture

WZL

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Christian Brecher

Prof. Brecher is Chair of the Laboratory for Machine Tools and Production Engineering (WZL) of RWTH Aachen University. Six research areas focus on machine technology, automation technology, machine data analysis, gear technology, precision machines, and fiber composite and laser system technology. Its objective is application-oriented research that takes into account the needs and requirements of manufacturers and users. Many years of research work in the field of control technology and automation lay the foundation for new approaches in agribusiness.

Initiator-Schuh_Copyright-WZL_ Center Smart Industrial Agriculture

WZL

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Dipl.-Wirt. Ing. Günther Schuh

As Chair of Production Engineering, Prof. Schuh is a driving force behind the interconnection between academia and industry at the Laboratory for Machine Tools and Production Engineering (WZL) of RWTH Aachen University. In the Center Smart Industrial Agriculture, he represents competences around the topics of innovation management, production management and integrated product and process development. His main focus is on a holistic production system design for sustainable agriculture.

Initiator-Schwaneberg_Copyright-Biotech-1 Center Smart Industrial Agriculture

Biotech

Prof. Dr. Ulrich Schwaneberg

Prof. Schwaneberg is Chair of Biotechnology at RWTH Aachen University. The scientific focus and expertise of his research group is protein design. The group combines methods of directed evolution with rational design approaches to identify fundamental design principles of proteins and improve their properties. Practical applications include release systems in the fields of crop protection and medicine (conjugated to micro gels), dealing with the microplastics issue, and (antimicrobial) coating of surfaces (as bi-functional fusion peptides).

Contact

Have we peaked your interest? We look forward to hearing from you without obligation and will be happy to explain the structure and benefits of the Center Smart Industrial Agriculture for your specific topic area.

Kontakt-Noeth_Copyright-Biotec Center Smart Industrial Agriculture

Biotec

Dr. Maximilian Nöth

Phone: +49 241 80 23154

E-mail: m.noeth@biotec.rwth-aachen.de

Kontakt-Riesener_Copyright-WZL-1 Center Smart Industrial Agriculture

WZL

Dr.-Ing. Michael Riesener

Phone: +49 151 550 59 207

E-mail: m.riesener@wzl.rwth-aachen.de

Kontakt-Storms_Copyright-WZL Center Smart Industrial Agriculture

WZL

Follow the center on LinkedIn!

Center Smart Industrial Agriculture

Imagemotiv_Copyright_Storms-2-scaled Center Smart Industrial Agriculture

Storms

Logo_Smart_Industrial_Agriculture_RGB Center Smart Industrial Agriculture

Grow More with Less

Im letzten Jahrhundert wurde die Landwirtschaft industrialisiert – diese Entwicklung wird sich im 21. Jahrhundert weiter beschleunigen. Dabei müssen immer weniger Landwirte auf der gleichen Fläche mehr erzeugen. Das Wachstum der landwirtschaftlichen Produktion wurde mit erheblichen negativen Folgen für die Umwelt erkauft, in Bezug auf Wasserverbrauch, Verlust der Biodiversität und Umweltverschmutzung. Die Struktur der zukünftigen, nachhaltigen und produktiveren Landwirtschaft ähnelt der heutigen produzierenden Industrie und kann sich daher an deren Herangehensweise orientieren. Die Leistungsfähigkeit der verschiedenen Anbauarten kann mit Einsatz von Produktionstechnik weiter gesteigert werden. Dabei bestehen in der bodengebundenen Produktion (Landwirtschaft) Optimierungspotenziale durch Sensorik, mobile Robotik und Vernetzung von Komponenten, während in der bodenungebundenen Produktion (Vertical Farming) durch Produktionsmanagement und Prozessautomatisierung die industrielle Herstellung von landwirtschaftlichen Gütern revolutioniert werden kann.

Vision

Das Center Smart Industrial Agriculture möchte einen Paradigmenwechsel in der heutigen Landwirtschaft einleiten. Die in der industriellen Landwirtschaft vorherrschende, wenig ressourcenschonende Bewirtschaftung soll nachhaltig mit industriell etablierten Prozessen, Methoden und Tools im Sinne der Kreislaufwirtschaft unterstützt werden.

Das Center soll als zentrale Anlaufstelle im Agrarmarkt für Smart Agriculture (bodengebundene Produktion) und Industrial Agriculture (bodenungebundene Produktion) die zukünftige landwirtschaftliche Wertschöpfungskette wesentlich prägen.

Mission

Die Vision kann nur interdisziplinär in einer Kombination aus Wissenschaft und Wirtschaft sowie aus Landwirtschaft und Produktionstechnik adressiert werden. Das Center arbeitet daher mit Lehrstühlen der RWTH Aachen (u.a. dem Werkzeugmaschinenlabor WZL sowie dem Lehrstuhl für Biotechnologie), mit regionalen und überregionalen Unternehmen sowie mit Verbänden und Städten zusammen. Neue Ansätze für die effiziente Entwicklung innovativer Produkte, Dienstleistungen und Geschäftsmodelle für die landwirtschaftliche Wertschöpfungskette werden generiert und es wird ein einflussreiches und interdisziplinäres Netzwerk aufgebaut, welches für dieses Themenfeld unerlässlich – und bislang einzigartig – ist. Neben dem Wissensaufbau und dem Austausch zu Best Practices werden Themen weiterentwickelt sowie gemeinschaftlich und vorwettbewerblich Projekte umgesetzt. Darauf aufbauend können mittelfristig Reallabore (z.B. Living Field, Living Greenhouse und Living Vertical Farm) entstehen, um sich auch als Start-up-Inkubator für den Food-Markt zu positionieren.
S-Kurven_DE-scaled Center Smart Industrial Agriculture
Aktueller Status und Potentiale der Anbauarten im Kontext smarter, industrieller Landwirtschaft

Kompetenzfelder

Die Entwicklung nachhaltiger Konzepte für die Landwirtschaft erfordert einen ganzheitlichen Ansatz, der alle zur Lösung relevanten Schritte in den einzelnen Fachdisziplinen miteinander vereint und dabei die notwendigen Schnittstellen zwischen diesen schafft. Folgende Kompetenzfelder werden vom Center Smart Industrial Agriculture umfasst:

  • Maschinentechnik
  • Steuerungs- und Automatisierungstechnik
  • Produktionsmanagement
  • Innovationsmanagement
  • Biotechnologie
  • Molekulare Bioökonomie

Forschungsthemenfelder

Im Center Smart Industrial Agriculture werden zum einen Themen zur signifikanten Produktivitätssteigerung innerhalb der klassischen bodengebundenen Produktion adressiert. Zum anderen wird interdisziplinär zu Produktionstechnik und Biotechnologie im Bereich der bodenungebundenen Produktion von Nahrungsmitteln geforscht. Hierzu arbeitet ein interdisziplinäres Wissenschaftlerteam aus den beteiligten Instituten gemeinsam mit einem Unternehmenskonsortium an visionären Lösungen zu Fragen aus den folgenden Themenschwerpunkten:

  • Kommunikationstechnologien
  • Neugestaltung von Wertschöpfungsketten und Geschäftsmodellen
  • Ressourceneffizienz in der Bewirtschaftung
  • Routing autonomer Fahrzeuge
  • Situationserkennung (KI, Big Data, Sensorfusion)
  • Elektrifizierung von Anhängegeräten
  • Automatisierung von Kultivierungsprozessen
  • Steuerungstechnik (Leitsystemtechnik)
  • Verkettung von Prozessen und Intralogistik
  • Disruptive industrielle Produktion
  • Crop Science
  • Vertical Farming

Leistungsangebot

Unternehmen können sich unabhängig ihrer Branche als Mitglied im Center Smart Industrial Agriculture immatrikulieren. Sie erhalten somit Zugriff auf die wissenschaftliche Expertise der beteiligten Forschungsinstitute der RWTH Aachen, auf Best Practice-Lösungen innerhalb der Community und arbeiten in konsortialen und bilateralen Projekten zusammen. Durch die gemeinsame Forschung und Entwicklung in einem industriellen Konsortium bündeln die Unternehmen ihr Know-how und teilen sich den Aufwand. Weiterhin können sich immatrikulierte Mitglieder mit ihren Produkten in Reallaboren beteiligen. Sie können so eigene Lösungen und Ansätze in einen Demonstrator integrieren und ihre Funktionsweise veranschaulichen.
Interessensgruppen_DE Center Smart Industrial Agriculture
Potentielle Interessensgruppen für das Center Smart Industrial Agriculture
Je nach Mitgliedsart (Premium, Business oder Basis) erhalten Mitglieder unterschiedliche Rechte innerhalb der fünf Leistungsbausteine
icon-zugehoerigkeit-300x234-200x156 Center Smart Industrial Agriculture

Zugehörigkeit

  • Zugang zur RWTH Aachen Campus Community
  • Temporäre Nutzung von Shared Desks
  • Recht zur Anmietung von Konferenzräumen
  • Nutzung des RWTH Aachen Campus Mitgliedslogos
icon-community-300x234-200x156 Center Smart Industrial Agriculture

Community

  • Jährlicher Fachkongress zum Thema Smart Industrial Agriculture
  • Diverse fachspezifische Workshops
icon-konsortiale-forschung-300x234-200x156 Center Smart Industrial Agriculture

Forschung & Entwicklung

  • Konsortiale F&E Projekte
  • Bilaterale F&E Projekte
  • Beteiligung an Konsortialstudien und Konsortialbenchmarkings
  • Mitgestaltung der Projektthemen
  • Teilnahme an der Strategieplanung
  • Gemeinsamer Aufbau von Reallaboren
icon-dienstleistungen-200x156 Center Smart Industrial Agriculture

Dienstleistungen

  • Beratungsleistung im Themenfeld von Smart Industrial Agriculture
  • Strategie-Meetings zur Ausrichtung des Centers sowie der Mitgliedsunternehmen
  • Nutzung von Reallaboren zur Erprobung innovativer Lösungen
icon-weiterbildung-300x234-200x156 Center Smart Industrial Agriculture

Weiterbildung

  • Unternehmensspezifische Inhouse-Schulungen
  • Offenes Seminarangebot zum Themenfeld Smart Industrial Agriculture

Initiatoren des Centers Smart Industrial Agriculture

Initiator-Brecher_Copyright-WZL_ Center Smart Industrial Agriculture

WZL

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Christian Brecher

Prof. Brecher ist Inhaber des Lehrstuhls für Werkzeugmaschinen am Werkzeugmaschinenlabor WZL der RWTH Aachen. In sechs Forschungsbereichen werden die Maschinentechnik, Automatisierungstechnik, Maschinendatenanalyse, Getriebetechnik, Präzisionsmaschinen sowie die Faserverbund- und Lasersystemtechnik fokussiert. Ziel ist die anwendungsnahe Forschung unter Berücksichtigung der Bedürfnisse von Herstellern und Anwendern. Die langjährigen Forschungsarbeiten im Bereich der Steuerungstechnik und Automatisierung legen dabei den Grundstein für neue Ansätze im Agribusiness.

Initiator-Schuh_Copyright-WZL_ Center Smart Industrial Agriculture

WZL

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Dipl.-Wirt. Ing. Günther Schuh

Als Inhaber des Lehrstuhls für Produktionssystematik treibt Prof. Schuh die enge Verknüpfung von Forschung und Industrie am Werkzeugmaschinenlabor WZL der RWTH Aachen voran. Im Center Smart Industrial Agriculture vertritt er insbesondere die Kompetenzen rund um die Themenfelder des Innovationsmanagements, des Produktionsmanagements sowie der integrierten Produkt- und Prozessentwicklung. Dabei liegt ein Fokus auf der ganzheitlichen Gestaltung des Produktionssystems für eine nachhaltige Landwirtschaft.

Initiator-Schwaneberg_Copyright-Biotech-1 Center Smart Industrial Agriculture

Biotech

Prof. Dr. Ulrich Schwaneberg

Prof. Schwaneberg ist Inhaber des Lehrstuhls für Biotechnologie an der RWTH Aachen. Die wissenschaftliche Expertise der Arbeitsgruppe von Ulrich Schwaneberg liegt im Proteindesign. An der RWTH Aachen kombiniert seine Arbeitsgruppe Methoden der gerichteten Evolution mit rationalen Designansätzen, um fundamentale Designprinzipien von Proteinen zu identifizieren und ihre Eigenschaften zu verbessern. Die Anwendungen umfassen z.B. Freisetzungssysteme in den Bereichen Pflanzenschutz und Medizin (konjugiert an Mikrogele), Umgang mit der Mikroplastikproblematik und (antimikrobielle) Beschichtung von Oberflächen (als bifunktionelle Fusionspeptide).

Haben wir Ihr Interesse geweckt? Wir freuen uns über Ihre unverbindliche Kontaktaufnahme und erläutern Ihnen gerne die Struktur und die Vorteile des Centers Smart Industrial Agriculture für Ihren spezifischen Anwendungsfall.

Kontakt

Kontakt-Noeth_Copyright-Biotec Center Smart Industrial Agriculture

Biotec

Dr. Maximilian Nöth

Telefon: +49 241 80 23154

E-Mail: m.noeth@biotec.rwth-aachen.de

Kontakt-Riesener_Copyright-WZL-1 Center Smart Industrial Agriculture

WZL

Dr.-Ing. Michael Riesener

Telefon: +49 151 550 59 207

E-Mail: m.riesener@wzl.rwth-aachen.de

Kontakt-Storms_Copyright-WZL Center Smart Industrial Agriculture

WZL

Simon Storms

Telefon: +49 151 538 00 575

E-Mail: s.storms@wzl.rwth-aachen.de

Folgen Sie dem Center bei LinkedIn!