Center for Systems Engineering

CWD

Industrial Companies can get Involved in the Center That Aims at Researching Integrated Model-Based Product Development

Center for Systems Engineering | Cluster Heavy Duty Drives

The Center for Systems Engineering in the Cluster Heavy Duty Drives on the RWTH Aachen Campus pursues the goal of developing and holistically testing the key technologies required for tomorrow’s product development process. Methods are to be developed which enable agile and automated product development by connecting to the individual development steps and the development tools used. In the future, model-based system development will be disseminated and investigated in a wide variety of industries through this work. The Center is under the scientific direction of Prof. Günther Schuh, Prof. Georg Jacobs and Prof. Bernhard Rumpe. The Center was initiated by the Laboratory for Machine Tools and Production Engineering (Werkzeugmaschinenlabor, WZL), the Institute for Machine Elements and Systems Engineering (MSE) and the Chair of Software Engineering (SE).

The Laboratory for Machine Toolsand Production Engineering WZL at RWTH Aachen University, the Institute for Machine Elements and Systems Engineering (MSE) and the Chair for Software Engineering (SE) are establishing the Center for Systems Engineering on the RWTH Aachen Campus together with companies – for example from the automotive, wind and software industries – and their suppliers. The Center is under the scientific direction of Prof. Günther Schuh (WZL), Prof. Georg Jacobs (MSE) and Prof. Bernhard Rumpe (SE). The industrial consortium and an interdisciplinary team of scientists are researching the topic of model-based system development. The Center for Systems Engineering in the Cluster Heavy Duty Drives combines processes, tools and models in the field of Model Based Systems Engineering (MBSE). The Center’s objective is to develop the key technologies required for tomorrow’s product development process while testing them holistically. Methods are to be developed that enable agile and automated product development by connecting the individual development steps to the development tools used, in order to meet the challenges of an increasing interdisciplinarity in the development of cyber-physical products. Interested companies can get involved in consortial and bilateral research projects in the Center and play an active role in shaping the Center’s orientation.

A key to the future innovative strength and competitiveness of companies lies in mastering agile product engineering processes (PEP) for complex, increasingly digitally networked technical products. Digitalization and new manufacturing processes call for new tools that enable PEP to be accelerated.

“We will digitally map a product’s functionality and usage reserves at every stage in its development and usage. This way, decision-making within agile development processes will be supported while individually coordinated operating strategies of digitized products will be facilitated”, Prof. Jacobs explains the Center’s motivation. This requires a paradigm shift in today’s PEP, which replaces the predominant system development based on document- and geometry-oriented processes with more powerful integrated processes. The MBSE offers suitable prerequisites for this. The introduction of function parameter-based system modeling creates a consistent development methodology that offers complete transparency on the process status and possible conflicts of objectives in the development process at any time during the development process.

Prof. Bernhard Rumpe, Chair of Software Engineering, on the challenges facing the Center for Systems Engineering: “The complexity of software in today’s systems is increasing significantly faster, which is why the development processes have to be rebalanced. The time has now come to combine the agile and model-based development processes of information technology with the design processes of mechanical engineering and thus achieve completely new approaches for the efficient development of innovative products, services and business models”.

The Center for Systems Engineering is a focal point of the Innovation Factory of the RWTH Aachen Campus, whose interdisciplinary ecosystem enables innovations from idea generation to industrialization. Progressive approaches promote creativity – know-how and infrastructure are available on-site.

Contact

Center for Systems Engineering
Dr.-Ing. Michael Riesener
Center Director
Phone: +49 (0)151 550 59 207
Email: m.riesener@wzl.rwth-aachen.de
Center for Systems Engineering
Dr.-Ing. Joerg Berroth
Center Director
Phone: +49 (0)151 4488 24 448
Email: joerg.berroth@imse.rwth-aachen.de

Center for Systems Engineering

CWD

Industrieunternehmen können sich im Center zur Erforschung der durchgängigen modellbasierten Produktentwicklung engagieren

Center for Systems Engineering | Cluster Schwerlastantriebe

Das Center for Systems Engineering im Cluster Schwerlastantriebe auf dem RWTH Aachen Campus verfolgt das Ziel, die erforderlichen Schlüsseltechnologien für den Produktentstehungsprozess von morgen zu entwickeln und ganzheitlich zu erproben. Es sollen Methoden entwickelt werden, die eine agile und automatisierte Produktentwicklung durch eine Vernetzung der einzelnen Entwicklungsschritte und der eingesetzten Entwicklungswerkzeuge ermöglichen. Zukünftig soll durch diese Arbeit die modellbasierte Systementwicklung in unterschiedlichsten Branchen verbreitet und untersucht werden. Das Center steht unter der wissenschaftlichen Leitung von Prof. Günther Schuh und Prof. Georg Jacobs. Das Center wurde initiiert vom Werkzeugmaschinenlabor WZL, dem Institut für Maschinenelemente und Systementwicklung sowie dem Lehrstuhl für Informatik 3 (Software Engineering).

Das Werkzeugmaschinenlabor WZL der RWTH Aachen, das Institut für Maschinenelemente und Systementwicklung (MSE) sowie der Lehrstuhl für Software Engineering (SE) gründen zusammen mit Unternehmen – beispielsweise aus der Automobil-, Wind- und Softwareindustrie – sowie deren Zulieferern das Center for Systems Engineering auf dem RWTH Aachen Campus. Das Center steht unter der wissenschaftlichen Leitung von Prof. Günther Schuh (WZL), Prof. Georg Jacobs (MSE) und Prof. Bernhard Rumpe (SE). Das Industriekonsortium forscht gemeinsam mit einem interdisziplinären Wissenschaftlerteam an dem Thema der modellbasierten Systementwicklung. Das Center for Systems Engineering im Cluster Schwerlastantriebe verbindet Prozesse, Werkzeuge sowie Modelle im Bereich des Model Based Systems Engineering (MBSE) miteinander. Die Zielsetzung des Centers besteht darin, die erforderlichen Schlüsseltechnologien für den Produktentstehungsprozess von morgen zu entwickeln und ganzheitlich zu erproben. Es sollen Methoden erarbeitet werden, die eine agile und automatisierte Produktentwicklung durch eine Vernetzung der einzelnen Entwicklungsschritte und eingesetzten Entwicklungswerkzeuge ermöglichen, um den Herausforderungen der zunehmenden Interdisziplinarität in der Entwicklung von cyber-physischen Produkten gerecht zu werden. Interessierte Unternehmen können sich im Center in konsortialen und bilateralen Forschungsprojekten engagieren und die Ausrichtung des Centers aktiv mitgestalten.

Ein Schlüssel für die zukünftige Innovationskraft und Wettbewerbsfähigkeit von Unternehmen liegt in der Beherrschung agiler Produktentstehungsprozesse (PEP) für komplexe, immer stärker digital vernetzte technische Produkte. Digitalisierung sowie neue Fertigungsverfahren verlangen nach neuen Werkzeugen, die eine Beschleunigung des PEP ermöglichen.

„Wir werden die Funktionalität und die Nutzungsreserven eines Produktes zu jedem Zeitpunkt seiner Entstehung und seines Einsatzes digital abbilden. So werden Entscheidungen in agilen Entwicklungsprozessen unterstützt und individuell abgestimmte Betriebsstrategien digitalisierter Produkte ermöglicht“, legt Prof. Jacobs die Motivation des Centers dar. Hierzu bedarf es im heutigen PEP eines Paradigmenwechsels, der die vorherrschende Systementwicklung auf Basis dokumenten- und geometrieorientierter Prozesse durch leistungsstärkere durchgängige Prozesse ersetzt. Das MBSE bietet hierzu geeignete Voraussetzungen. Durch die Einführung von funktionsparameterbasierten Systemmodellierungen wird eine durchgängige Entwicklungsmethodik geschaffen, die zu jedem Zeitpunkt des Entstehungsprozesses vollständige Transparenz über den Prozessstatus sowie mögliche Zielkonflikte im Entwicklungsprozess bietet.

Prof. Bernhard Rumpe, Lehrstuhl Software Engineering, über die Herausforderungen des Centers for Systems Engineering: „Die Komplexität von Software in heutigen Systemen steigt deutlich schneller an, weshalb die Entwicklungsprozesse neu ausbalanciert werden müssen. Es ist nun an der Zeit, die agilen und modellbasierten Entwicklungsprozesse der Informatik neu mit den Konstruktionsprozessen des Maschinenbaus zu kombinieren und so völlig neue Herangehensweisen zur effizienten Entwicklung innovativer Produkte, Services und Geschäftsmodelle zu erreichen.“

Das Center for Systems Engineering bildet einen Schwerpunkt in der Innovation Factory des RWTH Aachen Campus, dessen interdisziplinäres Ökosystem Innovationen von der Ideengenerierung bis zur Industrialisierung ermöglicht. Fortschrittliche Ansätze fördern Kreativität – Knowhow und Infrastruktur stehen vor Ort zur Verfügung.

Kontakt

Center for Systems Engineering
Dr.-Ing. Michael Riesener
Centerleiter
Telefon: +49 (0)151 550 59 207
E-Mail: m.riesener@wzl.rwth-aachen.de
Center for Systems Engineering
Dr.-Ing. Joerg Berroth
Centerleiter
Telefon: +49 (0)151 4488 24 448
E-Mail: joerg.berroth@imse.rwth-aachen.de