Concept

Science and industry under one roof

16 research clusters are under development on RWTH Aachen Campus in close proximity to major research institutes and facilities. The six initial clusters include

  • Bio-Medical Engineering Cluster
  • Sustainable Energy Cluster
  • Photonics Cluster
  • Production Engineering Cluster
  • Heavy Duty Drives Cluster
  • Smart Logistics Cluster

Interdisciplinary teams of scientists work closely with industry consortia in the new research buildings. The companies involved

  • share resources with university institutes,
  • utilize synergy effects,
  • exchange knowledge directly on site and
  • collaborate in future-proof innovations.

More than 280 companies are currently represented on RWTH Aachen Campus.

Germany at its best | RWTH Aachen Campus

Prof. Dr. Ernst Schmachtenberg, Rector RWTH

Room for research

One of the largest research environments in Europe is being created on 2.5 km².

The expansion areas Melaten and West form one continuous campus in conjunction with Campus Mitte (Campus Central). The conjoined campus is fully integrated in public life.
Campus GmbH/Winandy

Campus GmbH/Winandy

Campus Melaten with its 6 initial clusters

Campus Melaten represents the first RWTH Aachen Campus expansion stages. Eleven research clusters will be built here step by step on 473,000 m².
Six initial clusters on Campus Melaten have been realized since 2009:

  • Bio-Medical Engineering Cluster
  • Sustainable Energy Cluster
  • Photonics Cluster
  • Production Engineering Cluster
  • Heavy-Duty Drives Cluster
  • Smart Logistics Cluster

Restaurants, shops and service providers on Campus Melaten have ensured its integration in public life. Vincerola GmbH is currently supervising up to 80 children at their bilingual daycare facility. The health insurance provider Techniker Krankenkasse and the local bank Sparkasse Aachen have opened subsidiaries on Campus Boulevard. Bistro Restaurant Forckenbeck is the first hospitality concept represented on Campus Melaten. In the fall of 2015, work began on 285 student accommodations in the Campus Park.

Campus GmbH/Winandy

Development plan for Campus West

Campus West is the second installment of the two-stage development of RWTH Aachen Campus. Five research clusters will be developed in an area measuring 325,000 m² around Aachen’s train station Westbahnhof. These are closely linked to the existing institutes on Campus Mitte (Campus Central) in terms of location as well as topics.

In December 2009, the federal state North-Rhine Westphalia acquired some defunct terrain from the former freight yard for the planned Campus West. BLB NRW (Bau- und Liegenschaftsbetrieb NRW) and the City of Aachen are currently working on the development plan (D plan) for the area. Upon completion and successful submission of the D plan, construction work on the next research buildings will commence. In addition to office, laboratory, and conference facilities, a hotel, some cafés as well as residential and shopping developments will create an attractive infrastructure and living environment.

Research buildings created by renowned investors and architects

RWTH Aachen University won seven sponsorships for research buildings (in accordance with Article 91b, Section 1, Provision 3 GG) over rivaling research locations. These research buildings were completed on RWTH Aachen Campus. Private sector investors provide supplementary financing for the public funding. Those investors are additionally constructing buildings on RWTH Aachen Campus. Their two main reasons for participating:

  • They have found reliable partners in the federal state of North-Rhine Westphalia and Aachen University and
  • are investing in an excellent university landscape with growth and future perspectives.

The federal state of North-Rhine Westphalia is the owner of the land on which the university expansion will be located. The various plots will be made available as leaseholds. The building permits for the clusters will be allocated within the scope of a pan-European tender invitation by way of a competitive bidding and negotiation process.

The following investor and architect teams have been selected to date:

  • Smart Logistics Cluster:
    ante4C GmbH (Aachen) in partnership with the architectural office Meyer & van Schooten (Amsterdam),
  • Production Engineering Cluster:
    IMMOFINANZ Group (Vienna) in partnership with the architectural office HENN Architekten (Munich),
  • Photonics Cluster:
    ante4C GmbH (Aachen) in partnership with the architectural office KPF Architects (New York),
  • Bio-Medical Engineering Cluster:
    Frauenrath Group (Heinsberg) in partnership with the architectural office sop GmbH & Co. KG (Düsseldorf).

Campus GmbH

IMMOFINANZ/Henn

ante4C/KPF

Frauenrath Group/sop

Project Participants

RWTH Aachen Campus GmbH

RWTH Aachen Campus GmbH was founded specifically to assume the management of the RWTH Aachen Campus. As a joint subsidiary of RWTH Aachen University (95%) and the City of Aachen (5%) it is responsible for the development, realization and safeguarding of the overall Campus concept.

As the representative of RWTH Aachen University, the company is fully responsible for the development and realization of the entire strategic concept. It coordinates all activities relating to RWTH Aachen Campus and represents the interests of all key stakeholder groups, both internally and externally. the company has the exclusive right to decide on the utilization of the new Campus premises as the contracting authority.

RWTH Aachen Campus GmbH
Campus-Boulevard 57
52074 Aachen
Phone +49 241 80-27374
Fax +49 241 80-627374
Email info-campus@rwth-aachen.de
Web www.rwth-campus.com

BLB NRW

The university expansion areas are owned by the Bau- und Liegenschaftsbetrieb NRW (BLB NRW) (building and real estate management authority of the Land of north Rhine-Westphalia), that is responsible for managing the real estate of the land north Rhine-Westphalia, a total of approx. 4,250 properties with a book value of nine billion euros. The BLB NRW has informed the Campus GmbH that it is prepared to provide the plots needed for the Campus on a hereditary lease. the BLB office in Aachen is responsible for developing the building plots on the Campus. At the same time it realizes research buildings and infrastructure facilities for the university on the Campus site.

Bau- und Liegenschaftsbetrieb NRW
Mies-van-der-Rohe-Straße 10
52074 Aachen
Phone +49 241 43510-370
Fax +49 241 43510-198
Email AC.Campus@blb.nrw.de
Web www.blb.nrw.de

City of Aachen

The city and the university together are pursuing the goal of making the RWTH one of the world‘s leading technology universities and of establishing and expanding Aachen as an international academic and business location with the RWTH Aachen Campus project.

According to zoning plan no. 915 for the Campus Melaten, which came into force in December 2009, the City of Aachen is planning to create the planning law requirements for further development areas of the RWTH Aachen Campus with the zoning plan no. 923 – Campus West.

City of Aachen
Fachbereich Wirtschaftsförderung/ Europäische Angelegenheiten
Johannes-Paul-II.-Straße 1
52062 Aachen
Phone +49 241 432-7610
Fax +49 241 432-7699
Email wifoe@mail.aachen.de
Web www.aachen.de

Konzept

Wissenschaft und Wirtschaft unter einem Dach

16 Forschungscluster entstehen auf dem RWTH Aachen Campus in räumlicher Nähe zu den Großforschungsinstituten und -einrichtungen. Zu den sechs Startclustern zählen

  • Cluster Biomedizintechnik
  • Cluster Nachhaltige Energie
  • Cluster Photonik
  • Cluster Produktionstechnik
  • Cluster Schwerlastantriebe
  • Cluster Smart Logistik

In den neuen Forschungsgebäuden arbeiten interdisziplinäre Wissenschaftlerteams und Industriekonsortien zusammen. Die beteiligten Unternehmen

  • teilen sich mit Hochschulinstituten Ressourcen,
  • nutzen Synergieeffekte,
  • tauschen ihr Wissen direkt vor Ort aus und
  • arbeiten gemeinsam an zukunftsfähigen Innovationen.

Über 320 Unternehmen engagieren sich bereits auf dem RWTH Aachen Campus.

Germany at its best | RWTH Aachen Campus

Prof. Dr. Ernst Schmachtenberg, Rektor RWTH

Forschung braucht Fläche

Auf über 2,5 km² entsteht eine der größten Forschungslandschaften Europas.

Die Erweiterungsflächen Melaten und West bilden mit dem Campus Mitte einen zusammenhängenden Campus. Dieser ist in das öffentliche Leben integriert.

Campus GmbH/Winandy

Campus Melaten mit 6 Startclustern

Der Campus Melaten stellt die erste Ausbaustufe des RWTH Aachen Campus dar. Etappenweise entstehen auf einer Fläche von 473.000 m² elf Forschungscluster.

Seit 2009 werden sechs Startcluster auf dem Campus Melaten realisiert:

  • Cluster Biomedizintechnik
  • Cluster Nachhaltige Energie
  • Cluster Photonik
  • Cluster Produktionstechnik
  • Cluster Schwerlastantriebe
  • Cluster Smart Logistik

Restaurants, Einkaufsmöglichkeiten sowie Dienstleister integrieren den Campus Melaten in das öffentliche Leben. Die Vincerola GmbH betreut bereits bis zu 80 Kinder in ihrer bilingualen Kindertagesstätte im Park am Campus-Boulevard. Die Techniker Krankenkasse und die Sparkasse Aachen haben eine Niederlassung am Campus-Boulevard. Das Bistro Restaurant Forckenbeck ist das erste Gastronomie-Konzept auf dem Campus Melaten. 285 studentische Wohnheiten entstehen seit Herbst 2015 im Campus-Park.

Campus GmbH/Winandy

Bebauungsplan für Campus West in Arbeit

Mit dem Campus West wird der zweistufige Ausbau des RWTH Aachen Campus fortgesetzt. Auf einem ca. 325.000 m² großen Gebiet um den Aachener Westbahnhof entstehen fünf Forschungscluster. Diese sind thematisch und räumlich eng mit den bereits existierenden Instituten in Campus Mitte verbunden.

Im Dezember 2009 erwarb das Land Nordrhein-Westfalen für die Entwicklung des Campus West eine stillgelegte Fläche des ehemaligen Aachener Güterbahnhofs. Zurzeit wird der Bebauungsplan (B-Plan) für das Areal gemeinsam von dem Bau- und Liegenschaftsbetrieb NRW (BLB NRW) sowie der Stadt Aachen erarbeitet. Mit Vorlage dieses B-Plans werden dann die nächsten Forschungsgebäude errichtet. Neben Büro-, Labor- und Hallenräumlichkeiten schaffen ein Hotel, Cafés, Wohn- und Einkaufsmöglichkeiten eine attraktive Infrastruktur und eine hohe Aufenthaltsqualität.

Renommierte Investoren und Architekten realisieren Forschungsgebäude

Sieben Förderungen von Forschungsbauten (nach Artikel 91b Abs. 1 Satz Nr. 3 GG) gewann die RWTH Aachen University im Wettbewerb mit anderen Forschungsstandorten. Diese Forschungsbauten wurden auf dem RWTH Aachen Campus realisiert. Privatwirtschaftliche Investoren ergänzen diese öffentlichen Mittel. Sie errichten ebenfalls Gebäude auf dem RWTH Aachen Campus. Es gibt zwei Motivationsgründe für ihre Mitwirkung:

  • Verlässliche Partner mit dem Land Nordrhein-Westfalen und der RWTH Aachen University sowie
  • eine Investition in eine exzellente Hochschullandschaft mit Wachstums- und Zukunftsperspektiven.

Eigentümer der Hochschulerweiterungsflächen ist der Bau- und Liegen­schaftsbetrieb NRW. Der BLB NRW stellt die Grundstücke als Erbbauflächen zur Verfügung. Die Baukonzession für ein Cluster wird im Rahmen einer europaweiten Ausschreibung über einen Teilnahmewettbewerb und ein Verhandlungsverfahren vergeben.

Ausgewählt wurden bisher folgende Investoren- und Architektenteams:

  • Cluster Smart Logistik: ante4C GmbH (Aachen) mit dem Architekturbüro Meyer & van Schooten (Amsterdam),
  • Cluster Produktionstechnik: IMMOFINANZ (Wien) mit HENN Architekten (München),
  • Cluster Photonik: ante4C GmbH (Aachen) mit KPF Architekten (New York),
  • Cluster Biomedizintechnik: Unternehmensgruppe Frauenrath (Heinsberg) mit dem Architekturbüro sop GmbH & Co. KG (Düsseldorf).
Campus GmbH

Campus GmbH

Campus GmbH/Richter

Campus GmbH/Horsky

Frauenrath Group/sop

Die Projektbeteiligten

RWTH Aachen Campus GmbH

Die RWTH Aachen Campus GmbH verantwortet als Tochtergesellschaft der RWTH Aachen und der Stadt Aachen die Planung, Umsetzung und Sicherstellung der gesamten Campus-Konzeption. Die Gesellschaft regelt auf dem RWTH Aachen Campus die Flächennutzung und deren Rahmenbedingungen. Die Aufgaben reichen von der Clusterinitiierung über die Akquisition von Forschungspartnern bis hin zur europaweiten Ausschreibung von Investorenauswahlverfahren zur Errichtung der erforderlichen Gebäude auf dem Campus.

RWTH Aachen Campus GmbH
Campus-Boulevard 57
52074 Aachen
Telefon +49 241 80-27374
Fax +49 241 80-627374
E-Mail info-campus@rwth-aachen.de
Internet www.rwth-campus.com

BLB NRW

Eigentümer der Hochschulerweiterungsflächen ist der Bau- und Liegenschaftsbetrieb NRW (BLB NRW), der für das Immobilienmanagement des Landes Nordrhein-Westfalen verantwortlich ist und landesweit ca. 4.250 Immobilien mit einem Buchwert von neun Milliarden Euro verwaltet. Der BLB NRW hat sich gegenüber der Campus GmbH bereit erklärt, die für den Stadt Aachen Campus erforderlichen Grundstücke als Erbbauflächen zur Verfügung zu stellen. Für die Erschließung der Baufelder auf dem Campus ist die BLB-Niederlassung Aachen verantwortlich. Sie realisiert parallel dazu für die Hochschule Forschungsgebäude und Infrastruktureinrichtungen auf dem Campusgelände.

Bau- und Liegenschaftsbetrieb NRW
Mies-van-der-Rohe-Straße 10
52074 Aachen
Telefon +49 241 43510-370
Fax +49 241 43510-198
E-Mail AC.Campus@blb.nrw.de
Internet www.blb.nrw.de

Stadt Aachen

Mit dem RWTH Aachen Campus verfolgen Stadt und Hochschule gemeinsam das Ziel, die RWTH zu einer der weltweit führenden technischen Universitäten zu entwickeln und Aachen als internationalen Wissenschafts- und Wirtschaftsstandort zu stärken und auszubauen. Nach dem Bebauungsplan Nr. 915 für den Campus Melaten, der seit Dezember 2009 rechtskräftig ist, beabsichtigt die Stadt Aachen mit dem Bebauungsplan Nr. 923 – Campus West – die planungsrechtlichen Voraussetzungen für weitere Entwicklungsflächen des RWTH Aachen Campus zu schaffen.

Stadt Aachen
Fachbereich Wirtschaftsförderung/ Europäische Angelegenheiten
Johannes-Paul-II.-Straße 1
52062 Aachen
Telefon +49 241 432-7610
Fax +49 241 432-7699
E-Mail wifoe@mail.aachen.de
Internet www.aachen.de